Guest Blog Post: Is The NBA Officially Over?

http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=1996

We didn’t realize www.campusnow.com would take off this way but we aren’t complaining. Someone close to the www.campusnow.com Blog Team decided he wanted to blog for us. He shall remain anonymous – all we know about him is that he is probably the biggest USC (“Trojan”) fan out there.  He choose to blog about a different passion of his – The NBA (or the lack there of).

This is where it started……and possibly will end

One thing I have noticed with the NBA over the past few seasons is the diminishing quality of regular season play by the players, media and fans. Players are not worried about the importance of the regular season such as, seeding in the playoffs, conditioning for the playoffs, and not to mention contributing to my fantasy team!! Let me explain why….

1. Players:

Super star players miss games today for issues as trivial as the sniffles! I have seen headlines for players missing games due to flu like symptoms, Charlie horses, and  “Don’t feel like they can go today”… I think I am going to try to make a few of those excuses for missing work, then again I don’t make millions of dollars a year, so I don’t think my work can afford to pay me because I need to stay home and re-lace my shoes!

Superstar players will miss 3 weeks worth of games because “they don’t feel 100%”….what is that ? I never feel 100% but I still go to work, I mean sometimes my hair really hurts…But other older players such as Kobe Bryant have played through many games with broken bones, sprained ligaments, court dates in another state (don’t get me started on that topic) and slight headaches. And sticking to the Lakers praise (I sense a theme here) take Derek Fisher for example; he is 37 years old and just played his 524 consecutive regular-season game, (402 straight starts, the longest active streak in the NBA), and hasn’t missed a game since he was on the Golden State Warriors in 2005, but lets face it… the whole Warriors franchise takes off more that 50% of the season every year anyways (we know why!)

2. Media:

The media constantly questions the length of time players are in the game, even though in the 90’s players like Michael Jordon, or John Stockton would log 40 – 42 minutes a game. I constantly hear announcers saying, “he has played too long in this game”, or “you have to get him out of the game, they have another game tomorrow night”. Then I look at the stat sheet and see that players are missing 15 minutes worth of games, that’s a whole quarter! Why not just let everyone sit out the 2nd quarter because if you think about it, the second quarter is the middle child of quarters…. The First quarter you need to have a good start and build a lead, the 3rd quarter is just as important coming out of half time, and the 4th quarter is when you “ step up” your game and win! Who cares about the second quarter? I mean that’s when the bench players are in anyways, if I want to see missed shots, and lay ups I’ll watch the WNBA. Would the media be ok with its writers taking off Wednesday?

3) Fans: 

Fans don’t seem to mind either, no one watches the regular season like they watch the playoffs (probably because you don’t get to see Tyler Perry show commercials on TNT as much) even though the regular season is where the story lines for the playoffs come from, stories such as Jeremy Lin (contractually obligated to mention Linsanity when you speak of the NBA). Lin, who plays for the New York KNICKS (you’ll understand the reason why I made Knicks stand out soon) is the first American born player of Chinese decent (he was born on August 23, 1988, wears size 11 shoes, and has a 6’5” wing span) to start in the NBA. Lin who played for Harvard in college, and went undrafted in the NBA draft, was cut by the Warriors and the Rockets before he landed on the Knicks D-league team, until he was asked to start for Carmello Anthony when he went down with the sniffles (or he pulled his groin) since then all he’s done is average 25 points, 9.2 assists, 3.8 rebounds and 2.2 steals (7 turnovers) during New York’s last 9 games (8-1).

But I don’t think that is the biggest story; what’s more impressive is the fact (besides proving basketball stereotypes wrong) that in 2 weeks Jeremy Lin has already been asked out by a hot girl on you tube… I found this video on YouTube where a Florida State college student named Angie, makes her best attempt to ask Jeremy Lin to her Kappa Delta sorority formal…. I think she did a good job, I mean I know she calls him Jerry, says she heard he’s pretty good and that she likes athletes and “black guys”, and congratulates him on winning the super bowl with the New York Giants (see that’s why I did the whole KNICKS thing) she still managed to look really hot in the video.. sooo I can only assume he said yes.

We found the video just for you: http://www.youtube.com/embed/1QCYys449FA

Why I think You SHOULD Watch The Regular Season:

The regular season brings life to stories that grab our attention and even Hollywood or Tim Teabow cant match what is: Jeremy Lin.

–  The http://www.campusnow.com Blog Team


 

Leave a Reply

